Old School Mondayz – Classic album Review – Onyx_Bacdafucup


Studio album by Onyx

Released – March 30, 1993 (US)
Recorded – 1992-1993
Genre – East Coast hip hop, hardcore rap, underground rap
Length – 47:27
Label – Jam Master Jay Records / Rush Associated Labels
Producer – Chyskillz
Jam Master Jay
Kool Tee
Jeff Harris

Onyx chronology


(1993)All We Got Iz Us
Professional ratings
Review scores
Robert ChristgauC+[2]
Entertainment WeeklyA−[3]
Bacdafucup /ˈbækdəfʌkʌp/ is the debut album from hardcore rap group Onyx. The album featured their breakout single, “Slam”, which received heavy airplay on both radio and television (MTV and BET), leading the song to reach #4 on the Billboard Hot 100. Bacdafucup was certified platinum by the RIAA on October 25, 1993. The album is broken down track-by-track by Onyx in Brian Coleman’s book Check the Technique.[4]

In addition to Slam, two other singles made it to the charts, “Throw Ya Gunz” and “Shiftee”. In 1998, the album was selected as one of The Source’s 100 Best Rap Albums. Music videos were released for the tracks “Bacdafucup”, “Throw Ya Gunz”, “Slam”, “Shiftee” and “Da Nex Niguz”.

Track listing


1.”Bacdafucup”  Chyskillz & Jam Master Jay0:48
2.”Bichasniguz”  Chyskillz & Jam Master Jay3:54
3.”Throw Ya Gunz”  Chyskillz3:16
4.”Here ‘N’ Now”  Chyskillz3:40
5.”Bust Dat Ass”  Chyskillz & Jam Master Jay0:37
6.”Atak of da Bal-Hedz”  Kool Tee3:12
7.”Da Mad Face Invasion”  Chyskillz & Jam Master Jay0:46
8.”Blac Vagina Finda”  Chyskillz & Jam Master Jay; Co-Produced by Jeff Harris3:12
9.”Da Bounca Nigga”  Chyskillz & Jam Master Jay0:29
10.”Nigga Bridges”  Jam Master Jay & Jeff Harris; Co-Produced by Chyskillz4:12
11.”Onyx Is Here”  Chyskillz & Jam Master Jay3:03
12.”Slam”  Chyskillz & Jam Master Jay3:38
13.”Stik ‘N’ Muve”  Jam Master Jay & Jeff Harris; Co-Produced by Chyskillz3:20
14.”Bichasbootleguz”  Chyskillz & Jam Master Jay0:27
15.”Shifftee”  Chyskillz & Jam Master Jay4:19
16.”Phat (‘N’ All Dat)”  Chyskillz3:17
17.”Da Nex Niguz”  Kool Tee4:07
18.”Getdafucout”  Chyskillz & Jam Master Jay1:08


“Anti Climax” by Lee Morgan
Throw Ya Gunz

“Escape-Ism” by James Brown
“It’s a New Day” by Skull Snaps
“Nautilus” by Bob James
Bust Dat Ass

“Ode to Billie Joe” by Lou Donaldson
Atak of Da Bal-Hedz

“Blue Juice” by Jimmy McGriff
Da Mad Face Invasion

“It’s a New Day” by Skull Snaps
Blac Vagina Finda

“Nautilus” by Bob James
N**** Bridges

“Synthetic Substitution” by Melvin Bliss

“Rich Kind of Poverty” by Sam & Dave
“The Champ” by The Mohawks
Stik ‘N’ Muve

“Feel Like Making Love” by Bob James
Phat (‘N’ All Dat)

“Fat Boys” by Fat Boys

“It’s a New Day” by Skull Snaps
“Synthetic Substitution” by Melvin Bliss


Onyx – performer, vocals
Fredro Starr – performer, vocals
Sticky Fingaz – performer, vocals
Sonee Seeza – performer, vocals
Big DS – performer, vocals
Jam Master Jay – executive producer, producer
Randy Allen – executive producer,
Chyskillz – producer
Jeff Harris – producer
Jeff Trotter – A&R executive /editing / mastering
Tony Dawsey – mastering

Album chart positions

Year Album Chart positions

Billboard 200Top R&B/Hip Hop Albums

Red Everything Movement


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s